Dreams of Ys and Other Invisible Worlds by Jonathan Thomas



  • Cover art by David Verba
  • 2015
  • Paperback: 261 pp
  • ISBN 978-1-61498-134-3


This book was released for NecronomiCon 2015, where Jonathan Thomas was Guest of Honor.


“Myth and archetype, as well as the influence of masters of the Gothic tale, seep in from the groundwater in Jonathan Thomas’s world, but the landscape is wholly his own.”—Sherry Austin, author of Mariah of the Spirits and Other Southern Ghost Stories


This fourth collection of stories by Jonathan Thomas definitively establishes him as one of the leading authors of weird fiction in the twenty-first century. Thomas’s creative adaptations of themes and motifs in the work of H. P. Lovecraft are vibrantly displayed in such tales as “Houdini Fish” and the cosmic “We Are Made of Stars,” while the “King in Yellow” mythos of Robert W. Chambers plays a role in “Three Dreams of Ys.” A sequence of previously unpublished tales, grouped under the heading “Dead City Suite,” resurrects stories from Thomas’s 1980s master’s thesis at Brown University, capturing both the wonder and terror of his native Providence, R.I. In all the stories Thomas’s pungent wit and distinctive prose meld with a powerfully weird imagination to fashion black jewels of weird fiction that no reader will ever forget.


“Thomas is not just a ‘master of the macabre’ but a downright first-rate, wonderfully skillful and major short-story writer, period.”—Barton L. St. Armand, professor emeritus, Brown University


“Thomas’s dynamism in plot-weaving and his pungently satirical prose testify to a prodigious fund of creativity and a fine eye for observing the little absurdities of life in the twenty-first century.”—S. T. Joshi


Jonathan Thomas is the author of Midnight Call and Other Stories (2008), Tempting Providence and Other Stories (2010), Thirteen Conjurations (2013), and the vivid Lovecraftian novel The Color over Occam (2012). He lives in Providence, R.I.

This product was added to our catalog on Wednesday 22 April, 2015.